Lego Man Waist Modelling

I decided to put off doing the horribly complicated arm and started on the waist of the Lego Man.

At first I wasn’t really sure how to start this one, so I decided to go from the middle outwards. I figured since it is a fully symmetrical part that I could do half and mirror it so I quickly sketched up the centre part.

Waist #1

Then I sketched up the lower part where the legs/feet join on. It was quite fiddly getting all the dimensions for the ‘clip’ bit I had to go back later and change a few details because it didn’t originally work with the legs.

Waist #2 Waist #3

After that I moved on to the upper part that slides into the torso. I went straight to my model of the torso to get the dimensions I would need but when i checked on the lego man the proportions were almost identical so I was happy with that.

Waist #4 Waist #5

Next I hollowed out the inside of the torso connection.

Waist #6

 

Finally, I used a fillet to round the top parts and gave it the right colour.

Waist #7

Nearly there!

 

Leave a comment